Internet Resources

Here are some good resources for researching schools and applying to college.

 

IOLANI SCHOOL'S NAVIANCE FAMILY CONNECTION

Naviance - https://connection.naviance.com/family-connection/auth/login/?hsid=iolani
Students comprise a college list and apply from this website. There also are tools that help students explore major and careers.

 

SEARCH ENGINES

College Data - http://www.collegedata.com/
Requires you to set up a free log-in to store search information and more

College Express - https://www.collegexpress.com/reg/signup
Free college and scholarship resource

College NET - http://www.collegenet.com/elect/app/app
At the bottom of the homepage, there is information to USAcademy, colleges, applications, scholarship, etc.

College Navigator - http://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/
A search engine from the National Center for Eduaction Statistics

College Results - http://www.collegeresults.org/
An interactive web tool for you to compare colleges and learn about graduation rates

College View - http://www.collegeview.com/index.jsp
Tons of college-related information and articles ... also a college matching tool called Super Match

 

TESTS

College Board - https://www.collegeboard.org
Info on SAT Reasoning, SAT Subject Tests, and CSS profile, college searches and more

ACT - http://www.act.org
Info on ACT test and registration. There also are links to college search and planning.

Fairtest - http://www.fairtest.org
This national non-profit works to ensure standardized testing is used properly. They also maintain a list of schools that do not require standardized tests for admission.

 

APPLYING

Common Application - http://www.commonapp.org
Accepted by over 500 colleges, this is a great option to simplify the application process

UC Application - https://admissions.universityofcalifornia.edu/applicant/login.htm
The central server for those applying to the University of California system

CSU Mentor - https://secure.csumentor.edu
The central server for those applying to California State Schools

Western Undergraduate Exchange - http://www.wiche.edu/wue

Questbridge National College Match - http://www.questbridge.org/for-students/ncm-national-college-match
College and scholarship application process outstanding low-income high school seniors gain admission and full four-year scholarships to the nation's most selective colleges

 

STUDENT ATHLETES

NCAA - http://www.ncaa.org
The largest and most well-known collegiate athletic organizatioin in the nation. There is a Guide for the College-Bound Student-Athlete under the Student-Athletes tab which is essential reading for anyone considering playing sports in college.

NCAA Eligibility Center - http://web3.ncaa.org/ECWR2/NCAA_EMS/NCAA.jsp
The first step in playing college sports, student-athletes must register with the eligibility center at the end of their junior year.

NAIA - http://www.naia.org
Another collegiate athletic organization

 

GUIDES & RANKINGS

Colleges That Change Lives - http://www.ctcl.org
An organization focused on introducing great schools that may be lesser known ... great resources for parents too

Kaplan - http://www.kaplan.com
Search tools and information on their test prep courses

Peterson's - http://www.petersons.com
The publisher of well-known guidebooks offer a variety of tools for students

The Princeton Review - http://www.princetonreview.com
Search tools and information on their test prep courses

US News & World Report - http://colleges.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-colleges
Articles, a search engine, and those notorious college rankings

Best Colleges - http://www.bestcolleges.com
Resource to help students make an educated choice about their future

Niche - https://colleges.niche.com
Millions of college reviews and rankings

I'm First by CSO - http://www.imfirst.org/colleges
College guide/resource/scholarships aimed towards low-income, first generation, minority students

 

INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITIES

Canada - http://www.univcan.ca
Resource for Canadian universities

Japan - http://www.4icu.org/jp
Information on a number of schools in Japan

United Kingdom - http://www.4icu.org/gb/uk-universities.htm
Information on a number of schools in the United Kingdom

UCAS - https://www.ucas.com
The central server for those applying to schools in the United Kingdom

International Study Abroad - http://www.globalinksabroad.org
Information for various study aboard programs, service learning, internship programs etc.

 

FINANCIAL AID

FAFSA - https://fafsa.ed.gov/index.htm
The free federal form required by almost all colleges. File online and save weeks in notification time

CSS Profile - https://student.collegeboard.org/css-financial-aid-profile
The College Board form utilized by many private colleges and universities

FinAid - http://www.finaid.org
A board overview of everything related to financial aid: loans, grants, etc.

FinAid Calculator - http://www.finaid.org/calculators

College Goal 808: FAFSA - http://collegegoal808.org
Free FAFSA assistance and workshops for Hawai'i students and families

Fastweb - http://www.fastweb.com
A comprehensive search engine for scholarships of all types

Nelnet - http://www.nelnet.com/home.aspx
A college planning service with emphasis on financial aid

Sallie Mae - https://www.salliemae.com
Tips on managing student loans and financial aid

Hawai'i Community Foundation - http://www.hawaiicommunityfoundation.org/scholarships
Online portal for applying to scholarships for students from Hawai'i

Unigo - https://www.unigo.com
Helps current and future college students with reviews, personalized scholarship, college matching and much more

Chegg - http://www.chegg.com/scholarships
Scholarship match service

 

LIFE ON CAMPUS

Campus Tours - http://www.campustours.com
Virtual tours, searchable by state and college name

eCampus Tours - http://www.ecampustours.com/default.aspx
360 degree IPIX tours of hundreds of college campuses

Campus Security - http://ope.ed.gov/security/index.aspx
Searchable database of federal safety statistics for thousands of colleges

Greek Pages - http://www.greekpages.com
Searchable database of fraternities and sororities

You Visit - http://www.youvisit.com/colleges
Virtual college campus tours