Summer School

Summer School

The mission of `Iolani School's Summer Program is to continue the tradition of leadership and academic excellence in offering students from the community and abroad an opportunity to enrich their knowledge and curiosity through engaging curriculum and interactive learning environments in order to foster lifelong learners ready for the 21st century and beyond.

Update Notice: Online registration and payment system will be closed starting Tuesday, July 5 at 8 AM for updates prior to the start of After School Programs in August. For inquiries in regards to Summer School, please email spo [at] iolani.org (spo [at] iolani.org )or call 943-2262.

2016 Catalogue (PDF)

2016 Summer Sessions:

  • Grades K-5 Primary Session:
    June 13 - July 22
    (six weeks)
  • Grades K-8 Auxiliary Session:
    July 25 - Aug. 5
    (two, one-week sessions)
  • Grades 6-12 Primary Session:
    June 13 - July 22
    (six weeks) 
  • Grades 6-12 Session 1:
    June 13 - July 1
    (July 4 is Independence Day - School Holiday)
  • Grades 6-12 Session 2:
    July 5 - 22

Online Registration: Online registration is closed for the summer session.  For inquiries in regards to Summer School, please email spo [at] iolani.org (spo [at] iolani.org )or call 943-2262.

 

Forms and Important Links:

Lunch Menus, Price List and Hours
Mail-in/Walk-in Registration Form (fillable PDF)
Online Registration Tutorial Video
Summer Program Textbook Purchase
Summer Health Form and Requirements (PDF) -- required for applicants residing outside the State of Hawai'i and homeschooled students
Summer Drop-off and Pick-up Areas Map (PDF)
Lower School Classroom Map (PDF)
Upper School Classroom Map (PDF)
 

Closed Courses:

(Courses that are full with a full wait list as of 5/17/16 10:00 am)

Auxiliary Closed Course Name

Time

Code

Minecraft on Mars Gr. 3-5 Week 1 8:00 - 10:30 am K215S11
Keiki Adventures all grades Week 1 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

K100S1

 

K100S2

K100S3

K100S4

 

Lower School Closed Course Name

Time

Code

 

Animate- 3D Sculptacular! Gr. 3-5

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm G833S01
Art History Alive Gr. 3-5 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G805S

Art in the Wild Gr. 1-3 

7:30 am- 11:30 am

G729S1

Be a Mad Scientist Gr. 3-4 

7:30 am- 11:30 am

G701S

Bookworm Theater Gr. K-1

12:30 pm- 2:30 pm  G844S

Bricks 4 Kidz Gr. K-1

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G837S
Broadway and Beyond Gr. 2-3 7:30 am - 11:30 am G831S

Camp Read and Write S'more! Gr. 1-2

7:30 am - 11:30 am G708S
Creation Exploration Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am

G507S1

G507S2

Creative Coding Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am 

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm

G530S1

G530S2

G814S

Design Fun

Grades K, 2, 3, and 4

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm 

G800S01

G800S05

G800S07

G800S08

 

Design It- Make It Gr. 4-5 (6 week program)

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm G804S1
Entering Grade 1

7:30 am - 11:30 am

G106S

 

Entering Grade 3

7:30 am - 11:30 am G306S
Entering Grade 4 Language Arts

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am 

G407S1

G407S2

Entering Grade 5 Language Arts

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am 

G550S1

G550S2

Entering Grade 5 Math

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am 

G560S1

G560S2

Feasting on Literature Gr. 3-4

7:30 am - 11:30 am

G717S

Food Sleuths Gr. 3-5

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G810S1

Fun with Taiko Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am G847S11
Keiki Fitness Gr. 1-3 7:30 am - 11:30 am

 

G900S

Keiki o Ka La Gr. K-1 7:30 am - 12:30 pm 

 

G813S

Let's Put on a Show! Gr. 3-5

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm session 1 G818S
Literacy Adventures

7:30 am - 11:30 am

G725S
Logic and Reasoning Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am

9:45 am - 11:45 am 

G540S01

G430S02

 

Marvelous Math Gr. 2-3

7:30 am - 11:30 am G703S

Math and Science Team Up Gr. 1-2

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G822S
New York Broadway Drama Gr. 3-5 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm session 2 G827S1
Spanish Summer Fiesta Gr. 2-4 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G839S

Sports and Leadership

Gr. 2-5

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm

sessions 1 and 2

W103S2

W103S3

STEM Engineering Gr. 2-3

12:30 pm- 2:30 pm

G842S1

STEM Engineering Gr. 4-5

7:30 am- 9:30 am

9:45 am- 11:45 am

G570S1

G570S2

Swimming Gr. 1-5

12:30 pm - 1:10 pm ses 1 & 2

2:45 pm - 3:25 pm ses 1 & 2

W107S1 & W108S1

W107S4 & W108S4

The Science Around Us Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am

9:45 am - 11:45 am

G724S1

G724S2

Wonders of the Coral Reef Gr. 1-2

7:30 am- 11:30 am

G702S
Upper School Closed Course Name Time Code

Welcome to the Kitchen

10:30 am-12:30 pm

Y413S

Physical Education

8:00 am-2:15 pm

All sections

Life Skills

8:00 am-12:30 pm

All sections

Bible

8:00 am-12:30 pm

All sections

Ceramics

1:15 pm-3:15 pm

A311S

Photography

8:00 am-12:30 pm

All sections

Algebra 1 Honors Review

8:00 am-10:00 am

M395S/M396S

Intro to Laser Cutting

10:30 am-12:30 pm

I520S

Fun with Fabrics

10:30 am-12:30 pm

A773S2

Code: Fun!

1:15 pm-3:15 pm

T260S

Study Skills Session 1 and 2

1:15 pm-3:15 pm

T801S/T802S

Driver's Education Session 1 and 2

1:15 pm-4:15 pm

T500S/T501S

What's App!

10:30 am-12:30 pm

I514S

Math 6 Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm M731S2
Logical Thinkers Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm 980S2
Making Film 8:00 am-12:30 pm T280S1/T280S2
Writing Sense Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm E452S2
P/SAT and ACT Prep 1:15 pm-3:15 pm T695S
Fiction & Film Short Story Session  1 8:00 am-10:00 am E653S1
JAVA Programming 10:30 am-12:30 pm D221S

Cancelled Courses:

Amateur Radio Session 1 and 2

1:15 pm-3:15 pm

T621S and T622S

Slam! Session 1 and 2 8:00 am-10:00 am E901S/E902S
Hero Within and Without   8:00 am-12:30 pm E453S
Communication and Media 8:00 am-12:30 pm E559S
Aloha: Care for Our Kupuna 8:00 am-10:00 am I610S001
Character in Sport Session 1 10:30 am-12:30 pm T481S1
Computer Keyboarding Session 1 8:00 am-10:00 am T263S1
Creative Crafts 10:30 am-12:30 pm A633S2
Writing Sense Session 1 8:00 am-12:30 pm E431S1/E431S2
Fiction and Film: The Novel 10:30 am-12:30 pm E655S
Fiction and FIlm: Short Story 10:30-12:30 pm E654S
Some Science, Some Math Session 1 10:30 am-12:30 pm 703S2
Science in Our Stars Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm 719S2
Problem Solving Session 1 10:30 am-12:30 pm M991S0003
Math Counts Session 2 8:00 am-10:00 am M901S1
Speak Ease Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm E594S0002
Orchestra Reading Lab 12:30 pm-1:30 pm C105S
Ensemble Skills Orchestra 11:30 am-12:30 pm C115S
Japanese 2 8:00 am-10:00 am L433S
i2 Engineering and Design Workshop 1 8:30 am-2:15 pm K170S

Summer sports teams may begin meeting as early as Monday, May 16. Coaches for these different sports teams will determine schedules, times and activities for the athletes. Please see the below for sport specific email addresses in regards to questions and inquiries.
The `Iolani Summer Teams program is designed for `Iolani students that currently participate in the Interscholastic League of Honolulu during the academic year. The various summer sport-specific teams have organized workouts, conditioning/weightlifting sessions or participate in summer sport leagues.`Iolani Summer Sports Teams Information:

Students enrolling in ‘Iolani Athletics must complete the additional WAIVER (below) and submit it to the athletic trainers, Mr. Charley Gima or Ms. Louise Inafuku, PRIOR to start of the Summer Program. WAIVERS can be found below as well as in the Summer School Office in the Castle Building. Students will not be allowed to participate if WAIVER form has not been turned in. WAIVERS may be returned via email to geemz [at] iolani.org or linafuku [at] iolani.org, or hard copy to the Athletic Trainer’s Office.

`Iolani Summer Sports Teams Waiver :

Summer Program Waiver (fillable PDF)

Sport

Email

Baseball baseball [at] iolani.org
Boys Basketball boysbasketball [at] iolani.org
Boys Bowling boysbowling [at] iolani.org
Boys Cross Country boyscrosscountry [at] iolani.org
Boys Golf boysgolf [at] iolani.org
Boys Paddling boyspaddling [at] iolani.org
Boys Soccer boyssoccer [at] iolani.org
Boys Tennis boystennis [at] iolani.org
Boys Track boystrack [at] iolani.org
Boys Volleyball  boysvolleyball [at] iolani.org
Boys Water Polo  boyswaterpolo [at] iolani.org
Cheerleading cheerleading [at] iolani.org
Football football [at] iolani.org
Girls Basketball girlsbasketball [at] iolani.org
Girls Bowling girlsbowling [at] iolani.org
Girls Cross Country girlscrosscountry [at] iolani.org
Girls Paddling girlspaddling [at] iolani.org
Girls Soccer girlssoccer [at] iolani.org
Girls Tennis girlstennis [at] iolani.org
Girls Track girlstrack [at] iolani.org
Girls Volleyball girlsvolleyball [at] iolani.org
Girls Water Polo girlswaterpolo [at] iolani.org
Girls Golf girlsgolf [at] iolani.org
Judo judo [at] iolani.org
Kayaking kayaking [at] iolani.org
Sailing sailing [at] iolani.org
Softball softball [at] iolani.org
Swimming swimming [at] iolani.org
Wrestling wrestling [at] iolani.org

Contact the Summer Program Office:

`Iolani School
563 Kamoku Street
Honolulu, Hawai‘i  96826
Phone:  (808)-943-2262
Email:  spo [at] iolani.org
 
Natalie Hansen
Director of Lower School Summer Program (grades K-5)
Email:  nhansen [at] iolani.org
Phone:  (808) 943-2368 
 
Erik Yamamoto
Director of Upper School Summer Program (grades 6-12)
Email:  eyamamot [at] iolani.org
Phone:  (808) 943-2357
 
2016 Catalogue
A diverse range of enrichment and academic summer courses are offered.
KA‘I Program
Kūkulu Alaka‘i ‘Iolani is a summertime partnership with Jarrett Middle School.

“For those of us lucky enough to receive an ‘Iolani education, it’s our responsibility to come back, engage the community, participate and give back. It’s a matter of what we can do to build and improve our community.”