‘Iolani ‘Ohana (Parent Organization)

The ‘Iolani ‘Ohana, a parent organization, offers opportunities for ‘Iolani parents to be informed and involved in their student's education by providing programs and activities that foster relationships and promote continued interaction within the ‘Iolani community.

‘Iolani is a Hawaiian word which means "heavenly hawk." ‘Io is a Hawaiian Hawk that is a highly regarded figure in Hawaiian legend and culture.

Today, the ‘io live on the slopes of Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa on the island of Hawai'i.

The ‘Iolani ‘Ohana logo depicts two ‘io. The parent ‘io is depicted in black with wings spread to embrace and guides its fledgling shadowed in white. The parent-child-teacher relationship is represented by the three-layered wingspan. Working together to nurture this is our ‘Ohana.


New Parents Welcome Reception

  • A welcome reception for parents with students who are new to ‘Iolani prior to the start of each school year.

College Life After ‘Iolani

  • A unique event that provides an opportunity for ‘Iolani seniors and their parents to receive first-hand information about the transition to college life from a panel for recent ‘Iolani graduates and former and/or current parents.




President: Katie Wang
President Elect: TBD
Immediate Past President: Shellie Usami
Treasurer: Melanie Mizumoto
Secretaries: Jean Ishida & Jennifer Omoto



Technology Support: Nan Ketpura-Ching
Special Events: Carla Stroh-Palalay
Open Houses: Judy Nako
Grandparent Relations: Christy Nishita
College Life After 'Iolani: Lauren Dawson



Dr. Timothy Cottrell, Head of School
Dr. Aster Chin, Dean of Upper School
Mrs. Melanie Pfingsten, Dean of Studies
Mr. Zachary Linnert, Dean of Lower School
Mr. Eric Perkins, Interim Assistant Dean of Lower School
Mrs. Kim Gennaula, Executive Director of Advancement
Mr. John Tamanaha, Director of Interactive Media
Mrs. Toby Morioka, ‘Iolani ‘Ohana Liaison



(808) 943-2322



Generally there are two to three ‘Ohana Representatives for each class. These volunteer representatives assist with class events, coordinate programs, and share ideas that are meaningful to the ‘Iolani community. The representatives willingly share their talents, time and efforts to ensure that ‘Iolani parents stay informed and involved in their child’s school experience.

Class of 2032 (Kindergarten)
Michelle Higuchi, Lisa Hokkyo Izuka, & Erica Kaneshiro

Class of 2031 (Grade 1)
Tenille Nakayama, Ann Narimasu-Phomenone & Cheryl Walthall

Class of 2030 (Grade 2)
Lea Sakamoto & Vaness Tsang-Lee

Class of 2029 (Grade 3)
Wilna Fong & Jennifer Inouye

Class of 2028 (Grade 4)
Shelley Fuller & Nancy Wong Mitsunaga

Class of 2027 (Grade 5)
Justine Stamen Arrillaga & Jennifer Camp

Class of 2026 (Grade 6)
Stacy Jim On & Christine Sakuda

Class of 2025 (Grade 7)
Sheri Arima & Kathryn Fujioka-Imai

Class of 2024 (Grade 8)
Misa Butkiewicz & Amanda Wilson-Wong

Class of 2023 (Grade 9)
Cheri Copeland & Richelle Louis-Charles

Class of 2022 (Grade 10)
Leila Kagawa & Heidi Sato

Class of 2021 (Grade 11)
Joan Mitsuyoshi & Carla Stroh-Palalay

Class of 2020 (Grade 12)
Elisabeth Iwata, Cherilyn Lai-Kadooka, Brandi Merryman & Cyd Shizuru