2020 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Seventeen members of 'Iolani School's Class of 2020 have qualified as National Merit Scholarship semifinalists. They were selected from a pool of more than 1.5 million juniors who took the PSAT/NMSQT exam last fall. There are approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the entire country and they all have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.

A not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC's goals of honoring the nation's scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

Congratulations, Raiders!

Front (left to right): Kanalu Monaco, Timothy Knight, Mikki Ford, Conner Kojima, Sage Kanemaru, Patrick Perry, Trevor M. Lau, Mika Ishii, ToriAnn Abe. Back: Noah Taniguchi, Max Schermer, Kara Ushijima, Christopher Tanaka, Ashley Kim, Zachary Hoashi, Remie Paguio, Trevor J. Lau.

Click for more information on the National Merit Scholarship Program.