Math team wins 27th consecutive championship

Even though the 'Iolani School math team placed second at Meet 7 on Saturday, April 6, at Campbell High School, the Raiders built a big cushion over the first six meets and won their 27th consecutive Math League Championship.

In the overall standings, 'Iolani had eight league points followed by Punahou, Kamehameha, McKinley and Roosevelt with 13, 21, 33 and 38 league points, respectively.

Seobeen Chang '20 had a perfect score, leading 'Iolani to a total of the 241 points, which was six behind first place Punahou. Other team members were Tyson DeCastro '20, Jeein Hong '21, Chenyi Hu '19, Connor Kojima '20, Brandon Lai '20, Sonny Nguyen '21, Roy Song '19, Jake Song '21 and Jonah Yoshida '21.

The team of Dagny Brand '21, Darren Do '21, Katherine Kan '21 and Justin Sato '21 scored 96 to place second in the JV division. Also participating was Andrew Dawson '21.

The JV also had a substantial lead after the first six meets, and won their 19th consecutive title. In the overall standings, the JV Raiders had 9.5 league points. Punahou, Waipahu, Kamehameha and McKinley rounded out the top five with 13.5, 23, 26.5 and 34 league points, respectively.

Following the meet, trophies were given to the top 10 scorers in the league, and the Raiders earned six of them. Seobeen Chang was second with an average of 28.6 (out of 30). Roy Song and Tyson DeCastro were tied for fourth with an average of 27.6. Jonah Yoshida and Joshua Park '21 were tied for seventh with an average of 27.4, and Chenyi Hu was 10th with an average of 27.2.

The Senior Merit Award (the highest award given by the league) is given for outstanding service to their team and the league. Chenyi Hu and Roy Song were two of the six who were presented with this prestigious award.

"This team worked hard and were led by two terrific senior captains (Chenyi Hu and Roy Song)," 'Iolani head coach Michael Park said. "They put forth an excellent effort to prepare for each meet, and enjoy the challenge of solving really tough math problems. A big mahalo to coaches David Masunaga, Lance Takeuchi, Kathy Nirei, Alan Yeh, Ryan Sasaki, Erin Nagoshi and Jessi Saylors for giving up their lunch periods to prepare our team for each meet."

Congratulations on another great season!